Help - bootloader troubles using AVRISP MKII to bootload ATmega1284P

Working on the DIY Phone. I'm a real noob. Finding things very challenging. A layperson answer will help me the most.

I keep getting this error:

avrdude: stk500v2_command(): command failed
avrdude: stk500v2_program_enable(): bad AVRISPmkII connection status: Target not detected
avrdude: initialization failed, rc=-1
Double check connections and try again, or use -F to override
this check.

Have checked all connections, nothing wrong. Where should I be looking next?

How about telling us what you have connected?
Do you have the mighty1284 core files in place?

Thanks fro the quick response. And, for your patience. I'm a bit out of my league here.

I have built Mellis' DIY Cellphone David A. Mellis: DIY Cellphone

I've made it through these steps:

• Download and install Arduino 1.0.4 (tested) or 1.0.5 from the Arduino software page.
    Checkout the cellphone's source code from GitHub, e.g. "git clone https://github.com/damellis/cellphone2.git".
    Checkout the other repositories used by the cellphone's software with "git submodule init" and "git submodule update".
    For the LED matrix variant, checkout the LED matrix branch with "git checkout led-matrix". (The code for the LCD variant is stored in the default master branch.)
    Run Arduino and, in the preferences dialog, set your sketchbook folder to the cellphone2 directory (that you checked out from github).
    Also in the preferences dialog, enable verbose information on compile and upload. (This will help you debug if anything goes wrong.)
    Restart the Arduino software.
    Select "DIY Cellphone" from the Tools > Board menu.
    Select AVRISP mkII (or whichever programmer you're using) from the Tools > Programmer menu.
    Plug the LiPo battery into the cellphone.

The last step (below) is troubling me. I am using a AVRISP MKII to connect