Help buying Arduino Board

Hi!

I'm kind of new to Arduino, but tried some at school. Since I like Arduino, me any my friend are planning on buying a board. At school we use "Arduino Uno", but would like to have a bigger board, but a little unsure which one we should buy as beginners?

Any suggestions for us?

(Didn't really figure out where to post this, so hopefully this is the right place.)

Best regards, DanVass

Hi, I would still suggest and 'UNO'. The one advantage I see of the smaller UNO board is that there are lots of low cost, well tried and supported methods of making your projects permanent.

So if you have the money I would suggest get a single UNO and with any money you have left over buy a few component packs for 'bread board arduinos' or 'standalone arduinos' you will learn a lot more this way and will be able to keep anything really cool that you make without using up your one and only UNO.

Duane B

rcarduino.blogspot.com

I don't mind using money on these things, since I like it :) I got a budget on $150 to spend on Arduino gear. Are the uno bords better than the Mega 2560?

Hi, Are there other boards more powerful than an UNO ? Yes, but with a UNO and a set of component kits to build more Arduinos you can do something really clever like have distributed Arduinos managing different functions of your projects, you can also make any of your projects permanent just by leaving a component Arduino in them at a cost of less than 10 dollars. The best part is that if in the course of doing something very clever you damage an Arduino you still have ten more.

It is all just my opinion, but I haven't been limited by an UNO yet, it might be that I am just not that imaginative or that I enjoy the occasional challenge of making a project fit what I have.

Duane B

rcarduino.blogspot.com