Help Calculating the resistance required.

So, I've got my Arduino powered by a 7V battery. I have a jumper wire going from 'GND' to a digital pin through a resistance and speaker of 8Ω and 0.25W.

The equation I'm using for calculating resistance:

(Source Volts - LED Volts) / (Current / 1000) = Resistance

For the speaker of 0.25 W and 8 ohms I get 176.776695 mA and 1.41421356 V.

(Source Volts - Speaker Volts) / (current / 1000) = resistance
(7V - 1.414V) / (176.78 / 1000) = 31.6 Ω.

Did I do that right? Will I have to connect 31.6 Ω resister to the jumper wire, then solder it to the speaker wire's end (cathode); take the other end of the wire (anode) and insert it in whichever digital pin I want?

Sorry if this a noob question, I'm very new to this.

Do it the other way.
Max current an Arduino pin can supply is 40mA.
If you work that out for 5volt (5/0.04), you get 125ohm.
The internal pin resistance is ~40ohm, so external could be 85ohms.
Subtract 8ohms (speaker) = 77ohms.
This value could kill your Arduino......

Better to work with 20mA. >>> 202ohm.
The safe/practical value is 220ohms.
A value you see pop up many times.

LED calculations are a bit different.
You have to know the LEDs forward voltage, and drive current.
Leo..

Wawa:
Do it the other way. Max current an Arduino pin can supply...
You have to know the LEDs forward voltage, and drive current.
Leo..

Thanks a lot for your reply. Since I cannot change the voltage of the battery, I'll have to work with 5.586 V (7V - 1.414V). When I calculate the resistance for that, I get 231.3 ohms. So, should I get a resistor which has a higher value than 220 ohms?

You power Arduino with 7V battery but Arduino board has a voltage regulator which drops the voltage to 5V. So any digital and analog pin on arduino is 5V tolerant.

For LED use 220 Ohm resistor. Or higher - even 2k will be ok but LED will be dimmed.

waski: