Help Choosing Arduino Board & Project Questions

Hey everyone. I'm interested in getting into Arduino. I'm a computer science student so I think I'll have fun messing around with code once I get my first project going.

I'm interested in this one. http://www.instructables.com/id/RC-Car-to-Robot/

My questions are as follows:

If I wanted to add one or two more ping sensors, would that work with the UNO Rev 3 board the author uses? I ask because my friend said that depending on the project, you may need more ports and because of this a Mega board would be better.

Would it make sense to have two ping sensors up front angled out so it could detect distances from the front-left as well as front-right to better make decisions in regards to turning. Would it be better to use three?

Would it be a good idea to have a rear ping sensor to make sure it isn't running into things when it is backing up? Or would that just be a waste since you can program the truck to back up just a little?

If I were interested in programming the truck to "learn a room" where after exploring would know where the valid paths are, would I need more parts?

Thanks for any help you can provide, please let me know if there certain resources I should be using right now.

BlueShorts

Look at the number of I/O pins that each sensor needs and whether it needs any particular pins, or can be used with any arbitrary I/I pins. You already know how many I/O pins you have available so you can see how many sensors you can support.

How many sensors you need is entirely up to you - you need to decide what behaviour you want to achieve and then decide what sensors you need to achieve it.