Help connect Piezo pickup with UMCC pigtail to Arduino Uno

I have purchased a piezo pickup with a UMCC pigtail. It is a proprietary design and used with proprietary boards. Should I just solder leads to a smd connector? I am a beginner.

Can you post a picture of it. Do you mean an SMA aerial connector? There are many SMD connectors. Tell us what you want to do. Leo..

Yes sm style connector.

It looks like an U.FL connector, used for WiFi. Are you sure this is a piezo pickup. It doesn't look like any piezo I've seen. Leo..

Agreed, it does look like some sort of hirose miniature, can't say for sure which type though. But as Wawa said, it is likely a U.FL. For prototyping/experimentation purposes this connector is unsuitable as they really aren't made to be disconnected. If size is an issue, you could try something like MMCX. Or you could go with SMA or SMB.

Great forum thanks for the replies. Here is some statements from the pickup designer

Scott- My piezo pickups have been developed to work well with harps, and the reason I say that is because the piezo element is postioned inside the molded resin cube at an angle whereby the string will be compressing the element face-on, not at any angle. This gives the optimum output from the piezo as the string vibrates. If you set up a simple "harp" with one string, this would be a reliable predictable input for your experimenting....

... Each come with a UMCC connector on the end of the lead cable. This keeps the coaxial shielding continuous from the piezo to the connection. My experience is that EMI can be interpreted by the microprocessor as input, and you will get erratic results. Being zealous about shielding and grounding will minimize this frustration.