Help controlling color and brightness of RGB LED's.....

Hey, experienced programmer, but Arduino/electronics noob here. Need a bit of help with my first real project.

I'm trying to rig up a halloween mask with 2 RGB LED's to light up the eyes. I want to be able to control the color with 3 pots (1 for R, 1 for G, 1 for B), and another pot to control the brightness.

Here's my sketch for controlling the color via the 3 (RGB) pots:

// set pins for LEDs
const int R1 = 3;
const int G1 = 5;
const int B1 = 6;
const int R2 = 9;
const int G2 = 10;
const int B2 = 11;

// set pins for pots
const int R = 0;
const int G = 1;
const int B = 2;
const int BRIGHT = 3;

void setup()
{

}

void loop()
{
   int r = analogRead(R);
   r = map(r, 0, 1023, 0, 255);

int g = analogRead(G);
   g = map(g, 0, 1023, 0, 255);

int b = analogRead(B);
   b = map(b, 0, 1023, 0, 255);

analogWrite(R1, r);
   analogWrite(G1, g);
   analogWrite(B1, b);
   analogWrite(R2, r);
   analogWrite(G2, g);
   analogWrite(B2, b);
}

Basically, this just reads the pot value for each color and remaps it to 0-255, then writes out the values to the LEDs. Hopefully this is the correct approach but please let me know if not!

Also, whatever color the LEDs are, I want to use another pot to control the brightness. I've read that using HSV values is the way to go with this, and I found a converter for RGB>HSV here: http://www.easyrgb.com/index.php?X=MATH&H=20#text20, but I dont really understand what's going on enough to really know how to implement it in my own code.

So my question is how do I implement that conversion function properly, including using the value of the brightness pot to alter the resulting HSL value in order to alter the overall brightness? And finally, I'm assuming I would just convert from HSL back to RGB and write out the values to the LED to apply it, is that correct?

Thanks so much in advance for any advice, I really appreciate any help! =]