Help controlling solar powered laing pump by reading thermistor with arduino

hi this is my first time ever using arduino and C++ and need some guidance on what parts to use and how to program this to make it work. Our goal is to get the arduino to read a certain temperature from a thermistor and when it sees a certain temperature it turns on or off the power of the laing pump, that is directly hooked to a solar panel. Ive been reading and i see you need to use a transistor, diode, to connect any type of DC motor to arduino but don't know what else i would need to make this work. if someone could help i would greatly appreciate it.

Hi, we need to know more about the pump - what voltage/current requirements. What is being pumped, by the way?

Initial thoughts would be: why do you need an Arduino for this? Sounds too simple, an Arduino would be wasted, unless there are other duties it would be performing, or other complex rules/timing to be followed in addition to the thermistor reading.

Paul

jb0322: The pump is a low voltage laing pump, 8-24V and 1.5 amp max, we have it connected directly to a solar panel now. This is a circulation pump on a solar water heater( you can google image search "solar water heater"). The problem is that the water temps get 180F+ on hot days. We are trying to stop the pump when the water temp gets to 130F and restart when it gets below 100F. We will be using two 10K thermistors, one inside the water tank and one in the solar collector. We don't want the pump to run when the water temp in the tank, is warmer than the air temp in the collector (it will then cool the water quicker, counter productive). We also plan to add a lcd display to show water temperatures, and in the future maybe a shade to roll out over the solar collector. We have purchased an arduino uno kit with a few LED lights and resistors included.