Help! Controlling stepper motor speed and direction

Hi ,

I am still a beginner, so i will explain in details

I have Arduino UNO , NEMA23 stepper motor with a driver A4899 , 2 switches , 5k potentiometer , 2 * 10k resistor and power supply 12 v 10 A for Vmot , GND mot , power for Arduino UNO board .

I used the following code and wiring , when i power my power supply the Arduino UNO start smoking so i disconnected power , i test it with usb cable ( blink code , control speed only code at the end ) it's working , when use power supply it does not respond .

Can anyone check the code and wiring , UNO power problem ?

//direction and speed
int StartButton = 2;
int DirectionButton = 4;
int Enable = 7;
int Direction = 8;
int stepPin = 9;
int customDelay,customDelayMapped;

void setup() 
{
pinMode(StartButton, INPUT);
pinMode(DirectionButton, INPUT);
pinMode(Enable, OUTPUT);
pinMode(Direction, OUTPUT);

}

void loop() { 
if(digitalRead(StartButton) == LOW){
digitalWrite(Enable, HIGH);
}
else{
digitalWrite(Enable, LOW);
}
if(digitalRead(DirectionButton) == HIGH){
       digitalWrite(Direction, HIGH);
      }
else{
      digitalWrite(Direction, LOW);
      }
  customDelayMapped = speedUp(); 
  digitalWrite(stepPin, HIGH);
  delayMicroseconds(customDelayMapped);
  digitalWrite(stepPin, LOW);
}
int speedUp() {
  int customDelay = analogRead(A0); 
  int newCustom = map(customDelay, 0, 1023, 400,2000); 
  return newCustom;  
}

// speed
const int stepPin = 3;
const int dirPin = 4; 

int customDelay,customDelayMapped;

void setup() {
  pinMode(stepPin,OUTPUT);
  pinMode(dirPin,OUTPUT);
  digitalWrite(dirPin,HIGH);
}
void loop() {

customDelayMapped = speedUp();
  digitalWrite(stepPin, HIGH);
  digitalWrite(stepPin, LOW);
}
int speedUp() {
  int customDelay = analogRead(A0); 
  int newCustom = map(customDelay, 0, 1023, 400,2000); 
  return newCustom;  
}

when i power my power supply the Arduino UNO start smoking

Ouch !

What was smoking ?