** HELP ** Engine Speed Signal Outputs for Crankshaft and Camshaft Sensors

Hi everyone!

I’m new to the Arduino world and the C language. I need a little guidance on something I’ve been struggling with the past week or so.

What I’m Trying To Accomplish: Replicating synchronized crankshaft and camshaft signals to be read by an ECM (engine control module) to simulate an engine running.

What I’ve Done So Far: Originally I experimented with the delay() function which was seemingly easy at first with only 1 signal at a time. The issue I had was of course trying to create both signals simultaneously which is when I discovered the millis() and micros() timing functions. After playing around with the millis() function I think I’ve figured out the crankshaft signal since it’s the easier of the two. The crankshaft timing for this specific engine is a 60-3 sequence which essentially just means it has a total of 60 spaces for small teeth with 3 of those spaces reserved for 1 wide tooth (see attachment below for a drawing of the actual crankshaft timing wheel for reference).

What I’m Struggling With: Since I’m a bit new to the coding language, I feel like I’ve maybe over complicated my code just to get the crankshaft signal I currently have. I’m hoping there’s an easier logic to do what I’m trying to achieve here. Hopefully some of you can help!

I can’t seem to figure out where to start with generating the camshaft signal since the HIGH and LOW signals aren’t as simple as the crankshaft’s. I’ve attached a screenshot of both signals from a running engine that was given to me by another member who had previously posted back in April with a similar question with no solution. The crankshaft signal is in blue and the camshaft is in red. The camshaft signal looks like it has 1 small tooth. 1 medium tooth , followed by 5 large teeth.