Help! Finding small high resolution encoder

Hi.

I am doing a project where I need a high resolution (at least 200 P/R) rotary encoder. But it needs to be small. I have found this one, but it is actually too big for my design. I really need it to be compact.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Bourns-ENT1J-D28-L00128L-EN-Model-Rotary-Optical-Encoder-2-Bit-Quadrature-Signal-/191134234168?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item2c807cf638

I am quite new to arduino and everything, so I dont know where to look. (I am actually not doing the arduino work, just finding the right components) I have searched around for days, without finding anything, and therefore I ask you for help. Hope you have some tips leading me in the right direction.

Hope you can help me! :slight_smile:

Lasse

Maybe you can tell us where in the world you are located (so we can know where to send you for vendors and suppliers) - as well as quantifying what you mean be "compact" (size, weight, dimensions, etc).

Also - it might help us help you if we knew what you needed the rotary encoder for (ie - what is your project and what is the purpose of the rotary encoder for the project?); maybe there is another solution instead of a rotary encoder that will do the job as well or better. It would also be helpful to know if you need an absolute or relative encoder.