HELP!! Game w/ Shift Register

I posted about this a while ago pertaining to a different question related to this project. To my dismay, my question was never answered. But luckily, about two weeks later, I found out the issue. But I’ve now been confronted with a different, more difficult problem.

Here’s the basics of how it works:

I am trying to duplicate a project I did with my BS2e (BASIC Stamp II model E), except this time, I am making it more complex, I’m using more LED’s, a screen, a CdS light sensor, and a 74HC595 shift register. I have never used shift registers before. I needed to use one this time because of all the LED’s I was using, and all the extra knobs and whistles. This game has two options: 1) “Light-Stopper”; this game is like those games you find at an arcade where there is a huge plastic dome with lights in a circle, and you have to get the lights to stop on the one bulb closest to you (I think it’s called jackpot). 2) “Simon”; just like the memory-testing game, Simon. I am currently developing the “Light-Stopper” part, But I am having some problems. First off, here’s how this game works: