HELP.How to wire Momentary footswitch to Arduino Mega 2560 as Hi Hat controller?

Hello Everyone, Having a hard time , stressed , really frustrated and about to quit the project. Don’t have enough money to buy such expensive electronic drums, So I’ve heard this arduino for your DIY projects specially drums in a low budget… I’m done with the rest of the pads but except with this Hi hat controller. Pls. help me how to wire a momentary footswitch to an arduino mega 2560 based on the attached code… I am just new to this code and arduino projects… and I do really have a hard time analyzing how was the creator of this code wired his momentary footswitch to the Arduino mega 2560… Hopefully anybody can help me showing a diagram with a breadboard photo showing the wirings from the push button to the ardiuno for better understanding cause I really don’t know how to read electronic schematic diagrams…By the way… I get this code from: https://deadastronaut.wixsite.com/effects/copy-of-nano-8-midi-drums… Thanks :slight_smile:

16_pad_kit.ino (7.83 KB)

16_pad_kit.ino (7.83 KB)

images.jpg

well in the link you mention they describe where things go

You have a socket connected to the SW1 pins on their board. They mention

you insert the momentary switch within the jack cable (with a long enough cable so that in becomes indeed a foot switch) as in the picture. The tip of the Jack has to be the positive and the sleeve the GND.

in the code then they mention

hihat_switch = (((hihat_switch << 1) | digitalRead(3)) & 3);

so I would assume the switch is connected to digital pin 3 of your Arduino Mega (not the Analog 3).

Hi Sir J-M-L,

Good Day!

thank you for your quick reply sir,I really appreciate it… I will try this out… :slight_smile:

is there any resistors would be needed to connect either on the sleeve and ground wires?