HELP LCD 16X2 BLACK BOXES!!

Hi, I'm new to Arduino, not so much for programming stuff, but I have no idea what I could possibly be doing wrong.

I got 2 lcd 16x2, one with backlight and the other not, also I borrowed an arduino from a friend to see if the problem was in the atmega328

I'm using the LiquidCrystal example HelloWorld

All the wires are 200% correct, the circuit that I used is attached in this topic, and 2 videos showing the problem...

dropbox link

Please, I visited a lot of topics and tutorials, but I can't find the solution :frowning:

thx in advance

You most likely have some sort of problem with your wiring between the LCD and your Arduino. The power and contrast are OK.

Your soldering looks questionable although it is hard to tell with your shaky videos. It is impossible to use those videos to check whether the wiring matches your diagram.

Please furnish some well focused stationary pictures that will enable us to evaluate your soldering and that will also enable us to unambiguously follow each wire from the LCD to the Arduino.

Don

Hi, here’s the soldering that I did and the code that I used.

link to imgur

/*
  LiquidCrystal Library - Hello World

Demonstrates the use a 16x2 LCD display.  The LiquidCrystal
 library works with all LCD displays that are compatible with the
 Hitachi HD44780 driver. There are many of them out there, and you
 can usually tell them by the 16-pin interface.

This sketch prints "Hello World!" to the LCD
 and shows the time.

The circuit:
 * LCD RS pin to digital pin 12
 * LCD Enable pin to digital pin 11
 * LCD D4 pin to digital pin 5
 * LCD D5 pin to digital pin 4
 * LCD D6 pin to digital pin 3
 * LCD D7 pin to digital pin 2
 * LCD R/W pin to ground
 * LCD VSS pin to ground
 * LCD VCC pin to 5V
 * 10K resistor:
 * ends to +5V and ground
 * wiper to LCD VO pin (pin 3)

Library originally added 18 Apr 2008
 by David A. Mellis
 library modified 5 Jul 2009
 by Limor Fried (http://www.ladyada.net)