HELP line following robot project

Hi all,
i am new to arduino programming and i am working on a project to create a line following robot.
The purpose is to have a robot follow a line to a target area where it will drop a block into target.
the target is 2 squares, one is 18 inches by 18 inches and inside of it is a smaller 6 inch by 6 inch square.
The line getting to the target is 2 inches wide and the width of the line of the tarted is 1 inch.

I am using 3 light dependent resistors on the front in a row where the one in the middle is always on the line and the two outer ones are on white background.
I have been able to code the line following part and it seems to work pretty well.

The problem i am having is when it gets to the target area. I was hoping to get it to recognize that all three sensor cross dark line and count the number of times it has. I need it to cross 4 lines before it stops and drops the block.
I have tried a FOR loop and WHILE loop but no matter what i do it seems to get stuck in the loop. Or when i have it increment a count it always changes values because the crossing of the line isnt instant.

Here is the line following code.

int a = analogRead(A3); //sets a to reading from A3

}

}

please, does anyone have any ideas on the crossing of the lines in the target area :slight_smile:

Something along the lines of comparing the reading to the last one. So if you get a black reading twice in a row, you're still on the same line. That might happen say ten times, then if you get a white you know you left the black line. Then a few whites followed by a black, means your're back on the black. Only then do you update the counter....

thanks for the input.
this is what i tried last

if(a < thresA && b < thresB && c < thresC)  //this is for whent he sensors all become dark when it crosses first line

for the servo to reach the position 
         } 
    }

}