Help: looking to make a small device that pulls the curtain.

Hi everyone!

I'm new to arduino's but done a decent amount of programming and trying to see if I can make this small, silly christmas present for my wife - automate the opening of one of our curtains - and need some help.

We have fabric curtains on a rod, that the dream, is to have an simple app on her phone that says 'open curtain'... and a piece of string attached to the middle of the curtain gets pulled in, drawing back the 1 side of our bedroom curtains. No need to close, as I do that every night when I go to bed.. (but it does need to let go as I pull it back i guess).

Is this something that can easily be done? I don't even know what to google to make this happen. A super small arduino, with a pulley/motor?

Any/all advice would be super helpful as I'd love to have a project that I could build, and do something small but nice for my wife.

Thanks in advance!!

Greg

That is absolutly doable. One solution can be a motor that turns the rod a specificate number of turns, up and down. The more demanding way is to use switches for top and bottom limits. Yes, most Arduinos would be handling this.

When you get the mechanical design done, then the Arduino part may be quite easy. The Arduino forum is not a custom mechanical design forum.

Paul

You may get some ideas from a site search of 'drapes'. It's a recurring theme.

goverholt:
... A super small arduino, with a pulley/motor?

Sure - considerations you'll need to make are how small it needs to be, how much torque does it take to pull the curtain along the track, how do you want to power the motor?