Help! Machine proyect, 8 Stepper Motors.

Hi there! I'm about to begin building a Machine. It runs 7 Nema 17 Step Motors, and one Nema 23. I'm a newbie, so it's going to be challenging, but I got the time and hopefully the brains to put it together. What would I need to build and control this proyect? Is arduino capable of this?

Saludos From Mexico. El Velle.

I'm trying to convert a small lathe to CNC and use it as a platform for 3D printing so it will need 4 stepper motors.

I'm new to stepper motors and CNC so I've been trying to learn. I got a lot of useful information and links from the Reprap wiki http://reprap.org/wiki/RepRap_Options

I am planning to use a piece of Arduino software called Sprinter (mentioned and linked on the Reprap pages) which needs an Arduino Mega as an Uno hasn't enough memory. From what I can see the Sprinter code is easy to follow. I've no idea whether a Mega would be able to do enough calculations per second to manage 8 steppers but I suspect it's taken some effort to get the program to work well with 4.

Of course if your machine only needs to run one or two motors at any one time The Arduino would probably have plenty of capacity.

...R

Vellenaweth: Hi there! I'm about to begin building a Machine. It runs 7 Nema 17 Step Motors, and one Nema 23. I'm a newbie, so it's going to be challenging, but I got the time and hopefully the brains to put it together. What would I need to build and control this proyect? Is arduino capable of this?

I suggest you buy a stepper motor driver module for each stepper motor. If your motors need no more than 1.5A and 35V, then you can use A4988-based stepper modules. These are widely available from Pololu, eBay and elsewhere. You can drive those modules from the Arduino using 1 dedicated pin per module, plus between 1 and 7 shared pins depending on what features of the A4988 you want to use.