Help me program my Arduino

I have LCD connected.
Goal is to count the number of seconds when pin D9 is high and pause when D9 is low and start counting again when D9 is high.

Counting starts from 0 seconds to maximum the LCD can handle .

I used the millis function but it is not pausing.

I'm new to C ++ . Please help me with the sketch !

Someone writing the sketch for me would be appreciated. I am sure it's very simple

Goal is to count the number of seconds when pin D9 is high and pause when D9 is low and start counting again when D9 is high.

Use a loop. I'd suggest a [u]while() loop[/u]. The loop doesn't need to "do anything"... Just start the loop when D9 goes low, and sit there in a loop doing nothing but looping (just checking the state of D9) and break out of the do-nothing loop when D9 goes high.

Since you cannot pause the millis() function, you'll have to reset a variable to get a new starting-time when you come out of the loop to start counting/accumulating seconds again.

I used the millis function but it is not pausing.

The millis() function gives you the current time (the number of milliseconds since your program started). It does NOT pause your program.

delay() will pause your program, but it doesn't stop/pause the millis() function and it pauses for a certain period of time and your program can't read the state of D9 during the delay period.

I'm new to C ++

The two most important concepts in programming are conditional execution (if-statements, etc.) and loops (doing something over-and-over, usually until some condition is reached).

C++ is a very complex language, but once you understand these two concepts you can start to understand how a program is structured.

Post what you've got and we can help you, otherwise it looks like we're writing it, and that's no fun for you.