Help me start my halloween project: led lights on a spaceship!

Total newbie here. I need a lot of help starting my project. This year for halloween we’re building an alien invasion display for our front yard. We’ll have a corn field with aliens in it, fog machine, crop circles cut in my lawn, and the center piece of it all will be an alien ufo. I’d like to put a string of led lights around the perimeter of the ufo. Ideally the lights will do a variety of different things: all brighten and then dim, chase each other at varying speeds, and other patterns that would look appropriate on a ufo. I would like the leds to have the ability to change colors however, when doing their patterns I will mostly want them to stay in one color. For example, dim in and out while staying in blue only. I mention this because in my short amount of research online it seems a lot of these led strips do these patterns while cycling through the colors.

Also, I’m going to put together a sound track of all sorts of creepy ufo and alien sounds and there will be parts of the soundtrack that I’d like to coordinate with the lights. For example, if I used a sound like this: Strange Sounds Heard Blasting From UFO!! - YouTube, the lights on the ship would come on in coordination with the sound blasts.

The circumference of my ship will be approximately 41’. So I’ll need to put together an led strip that long. However, the ship will be up in my yard and people won’t really see the backside, so I could conceivably not wrap the lights all the way around if necessary.

So where do I begin? Thanks for your help! Looking forward to this project!

edit: Let me know if I should post this in the LED forum instead and i’ll move it.

Learn how to use the TLC5940 and the WS2801 or WS2803 or WS2812. Look for libraries.