Help me to choose what to buy..

Hello dear Arduino community! :slight_smile:

I’m totally new to the eletronic things and arduino. Never used anything of that. I watched some Arduino tutorials and I really like it.

I found an Arduino Kit on aliexpress for a reasonable price

http://www.aliexpress.com/item/Arduino-Starter-Kit-for-arduino-Uno-R3-9G-Server-arduino-sensor-1602-LCD-jumper-Wire-UNO/32808269674.html

Is that okay to start with? I’m having a budget problems so expensive kits of official stores aren’t something I can afford right now.

Thanks for all your reactions. All best to you all, Bel :slight_smile:

What do you want to do with it? What project?

I for one don't buy anything without a pre-determined use, especially things that really cost money, like sensors and microprocessors. Don't look at the "just give me a handful" type stuff such as resistors, capacitors and LEDs, those are dirt cheap.

So that's my advice for you: think of what you want to build, get the parts, and start learning. Find a project you can grind your teeth on - even something as simple an automatic plant watering system has a lot to go for it: the input (when to start watering), the output (the amount of water to add), and alarms (reservoir empty). Incidentally the starter kit you linked to doesn't have much useful for such a project. The overall price of it sounds pretty reasonable, though, for what you get.

Hey wvmarle, thanks for your reply.

I don't know what I want to do yet. I'm just really surprised how many possibilities Arduino has. It's able to make anything possible if used the right way.

I think I'll get the kit I posted above, I'll also try to buy some motors to build a RC car, boat or something like that :) If you got any tips or good project I'll be happy to check them!

Best regards :)