Help Me Understand this Code

Hi,

I'm working on a project involving an Eink display and have to make some modifications. I'm very new to arduino coding, and can't really follow a certain part of the code. I'll paste it here:

define IMAGE_1 cat

define IMAGE_2 dog

define IMAGE_3 apple

define MAKE_STRING1(X) #X

define MAKE_STRING(X) MAKE_STRING1(X)

define ID(X) X

define MAKE_NAME1(X,Y) ID(X##Y)

define MAKE_NAME(X,Y) MAKE_NAME1(X,Y)

define MAKE_JOIN(X,Y) MAKE_STRING(MAKE_NAME(X,Y))

define IMAGE_1_FILE MAKE_JOIN(IMAGE_1,EPD_IMAGE_FILE_SUFFIX)

define IMAGE_1_BITS MAKE_NAME(IMAGE_1,EPD_IMAGE_NAME_SUFFIX)

define IMAGE_2_FILE MAKE_JOIN(IMAGE_2,EPD_IMAGE_FILE_SUFFIX)

define IMAGE_2_BITS MAKE_NAME(IMAGE_2,EPD_IMAGE_NAME_SUFFIX)

define IMAGE_3_FILE MAKE_JOIN(IMAGE_3,EPD_IMAGE_FILE_SUFFIX)

define IMAGE_3_BITS MAKE_NAME(IMAGE_3,EPD_IMAGE_NAME_SUFFIX)

Later on in the code, IMAGE_1_BITS, and the others, are used in a switch to display the images. Can anyone guide me as to what is happening here?

This is basically the demo code that was included in the tutorial. I can add more images if I just followed the syntax but because of our needs, we need to alternate between a hundred or so mages. So declaring all of them, and making a switch with a hundred cases doesn't look like the right way to go.

If anyone has any ideas I would be so greatful. Thanks!

https://gcc.gnu.org/onlinedocs/cpp/Stringification.html

What is the output format of MAKE_NAME? When I print them, MAKE_JOIN outputs a string but MAKE_NAME gives me an error.

What I’d also like to know is is there another way to implement what is going on here in a completely different way? The way this code is made, each image is defined and has several lines of code. If there were only a few images, that would be fine, but what we are to do is to alternate between hundreds of images with a fixed delay, and defining each of those images doesn’t seem to be the best idea.