Help me with this

I'm try to create a Speed Trap

using 2 ultrasonic sensor

the flow is:

from pointA to pointB, the distance is 1meter,

when the Car pass through pointA, the countdown start.

and end through pointB, which the countdown stop, and then the seconds collect will compute as Meter per seconds..

im just a beginner for this project

help for the codes thanks

Have you at least got the sensors hooked up and reading values which will tell you the car is in the beam?

almost

i’m using two HC-SR04

so i just need the speed of the car… totally rc Car

in m/s

the distance between of two sensor is 1meter

Well just use millis() to set a variable say startTime = millis() when the first beam is broken, and another endTime=millis() when the second one is broken and then endTime-startTime is how long it took to travel the 1m.

BUT.... loop() will run a zillion times in that short time and the car will probably still be breaking the first beam for many passes through loop. That means you might accidentally restart the timer. So you need a boolean flag called say "timingStarted" which is initialised false. When you check the first beam, only start the timer if if the flag is still false, and set it true when you do start it. So next time through loop() while the first beam is probably still broken, you don't restart the timer becasue the flag is true and you only start if it's false.

Then when the second beam is broken and you take the end time, set the flag back to false so the timer is ready for another vehicle.

Summary (not code.... just the steps)

• initialise timingStarted as false
  • if first beam is broken AND timingStarted is false, set startTime = millis() and set timingStarted to true
    (so by implication, next time thru loop() if first beam is broken and timingStarted is true, do nothing.)
  • if timingstarted is true AND second beam broken, take the end time and set timingStarted to false
  • calculate the speed.
#include <NewPing.h>