HELP - Mega's interface with 10x10x10x led cube

Hello

Im really new to arduino and the world of electronics, so i need a little help.

I made a 4x4x4 Led Cube n it worked great off my new Arduino Mega so i made a 10x10x10 cube (common cathode). Now the problem is that i understand i need 100+10 outputs from my arduino to run the cube. I was planning to cascade 13 74HC595's for the anodes and run the commons directly through arduino using transistors as switches for the ground. Is it advisable to use 13 shiftresistors? and possible? is there any better way to do this? :-/

Also im not really sure how to go about writing the code for this. Can someone point me in the right direction?

Thanks in advance. :)

Hey Guys

Please i really need help on this... Any sort of information or comments would be usefull..

Thanks..

Any sort of information or comments would be usefull

Well I think 1000 LEDs for someone new to electronics is just a bit stupid.

Yes you can cascade that many shift registers but you will need supply decoupling on each chip. http://www.thebox.myzen.co.uk/Tutorial/De-coupling.html You also need to consider the current drives for both sourcing and sinking, you have got away with the native drive capacity so far but in scaling up you need to do things properly if they are to work. There is an absolute limit of 200mA for the current supplied by one arduino no matter how many pins it is spread over. How are you driving the LEDs? Is it charliplexing? If so you can't use shift registers as you will not be able to tri state the outputs, you need some sort of port expander like the MCP23S17. All in all this is a big project in every sense of the word. Why do you think there are not that many schematics for such a large cube about on the net?

Well I think 1000 LEDs for someone new to electronics is just a bit stupid.

Well i know its a little extreme.... but i hope to learn on the way and if it doesnt work I would just convert it into 8cube....