HELP: NE555 and interrupt function

Hello everyone,

I am a mechanical engineering student, and recently discovered arduino. You can not imagine, how happy I was, that I will not have to buy commercial products to do simple tasks, but actually do it myself, the way I want it to perform.

I watched and read a lot of tutorials, and had no problems monitoring sensors and doing simple tasks with servos.

BUT not I am stuck.

I try to monitor a single cylinder 4 stroke IC motor and strugling to register RPM with ne 555 and interrupt function.

The schematic is attached to the post. It is based on a very popular in this forum sport devices capacitive spark pickup (found here SportDevices. Chassis and Engine Dynamometers)

The code I am using is very simple, which sends the data back to the seial port.

int sensePin = 2;
int rpm = 0;
unsigned long oldTime = 0;
unsigned long newTime = 0;
unsigned long interval = 0;

void spark()
{
  newTime = micros();
  interval = newTime - oldTime;
  if (interval > 500)
  {
    rpm = 60000000 / interval; 
  }
}

void setup ()
{
  Serial.begin(9600);
  pinMode(sensePin, INPUT);
  attachInterrupt(0, spark, RISING);    // analog2 input 
}

void loop ()
{  
  noInterrupts();
  unsigned long rpmDisplay = rpm;
  interrupts();
  Serial.println(rpmDisplay);
  delay(1000);
}

and I constantly get zero values back to com monitor :frowning:

I tried FALLING and RISING, tried different interval comparison, even to the 1 microsecond and still getting zeroes.

There are some slight variations of NE555 wiring posted over internet, so I think I might have done something wrong with wiring the chip NE555.

Also, is there any arduino based osciloscope I could try using, to see if there is any signal coming to arduino. I tried googlig, but xciloscope does not work for me, due to being old version and SimpleArduinoOsciloscope freezes after a few seconds :frowning:

Thank ou for al lthe input.

You have a few problems: