Help need with speed adjust

Hello, obviously im a newbie so go easy on me :slight_smile: but Is there a way to adjust the steps taken by the stepper when the bourn encoder is rotated?

long story short im wanting the stepper shaft to move at the same speed / rotation as the bourn encoder,
as in the tutorial the motor does move 1 step per encoder step, but the shaft of the stepper rotates less than the encoder,

im basically wanting to attach the encoder shaft via a coupling connector to another shaft controlled by a dc motor, i want the stepper motor to go at the same rotation as the shaft thats connected to the bourn encoder… reason being i don’t want to touch any of the original electronics and basically piggy back them but instead of using the dc motor to drive, will use the stepper motor

hope that makes sense

/* Control Stepper Motor with 'Bourns EAW' encoder

Created by Yvan / https://Brainy-Bits.com

This code is in the public domain...

You can: copy it, use it, modify it, share it or just plain ignore it!
Thx!
*/

#include <LiquidCrystal_I2C.h>  // I2C LCD Library by Francisco Malpartida https://bitbucket.org/fmalpartida/new-liquidcrystal/wiki/Home
#include <AccelStepper.h>  // AccelStepper Library https://www.arduinolibraries.info/libraries/accel-stepper

#define I2C_ADDR 0x27  // I2C address of typical I2C LCD Backpack

// LCD Pins to I2C LCD Backpack - These are default for HD44780 LCD's
#define Rs_pin 0
#define Rw_pin 1
#define En_pin 2
#define BACKLIGHT_PIN 3
#define D4_pin 4
#define D5_pin 5
#define D6_pin 6
#define D7_pin 7

// Create instance for LCD called: i2c_lcd
LiquidCrystal_I2C i2c_lcd(I2C_ADDR,En_pin,Rw_pin,Rs_pin,D4_pin,D5_pin,D6_pin,D7_pin);

const int pinSTEP=11;  // STEP pin of EasyDriver connected to pin 11 of UNO
const int pinDIR=10;  // DIR  pin of EasyDriver connected to pin 10 of UNO

AccelStepper stepper(1, pinSTEP, pinDIR);  // Stepper setup

// Include the Bourns EAW Encoder library and maps