Help Needed Decoding Binary number and writing pins.

Hi all,

I’m new here and I would like to thank you very much for this helpful forum.

I’m new to programming and arduino and I would be glad if I can get some guidance. I searched, but I found no solution to what I’m trying. I hope that I post the right place.

I have setup a wireless communication using the NRF24L01. My transmitter transmits the state of 7 pins (pin 2,3,4,5,6,7,8) to my receiver as a binary number. For example all High = 1111111 and pin 3 low is 1011111. If pin 3 and pin 8 is zero, I get 1011110.

Now I want to use my code in the receiver to check for the zero’s and the locations of the zero’s and turn corresponding pins to High or Low simultaneously.

I’ve tried it with the code below, it works fine for 2 Low’s on the transmitter, but when I have 3 Low’s, the decoding options on the receiver side gets too long.

It is important for me that all the pins are read simultaneous and the is (almost) no delay in the switching.

I hope that I can get some help?

Thank you very much in advance.

Kind regards,

Example.ino (4.67 KB)

Use another array for the output pins. If I understand your goal correctly, something like this could work (untested):

int relays[]={relay1,relay2,relay3,relay4,relay5,relay6,relay7};

for(int i=0; i<7; i++) {
   if (message[i]==0) digitalWrite(relays[i],HIGH);
   else digitalWrite(relays[i],LOW);
}

The message array could be replaced by the bits of a single byte.

I would start by sending a single byte with its bits set to match that of the 7 pins

On the receiving side read the state of each bit of the byte using bitRead() and set the state of the corresponding output pin to match.

Hi All,

Thank you very much for the response.

I've been able to get my code fully functional with the code provided by: jremington.

Wishing you all a nice day further.

Hi all,