Help needed Handling Data in odd sized words (not 8 bit or 16 bit etc)

Hi

I am workingh with a RAM that is connected on SPI and has unusual size words. The actual word size varies dependant on the page of RAM I am loading

I know how to address the RAM, it is addressed one word at a time then I need to send data as a sequence of bytes together with some padding bits at the end

The RAM is big endian

What I am not sure is how to handle the variables in my program as they cross byte boundaries etc and I have no previous experience of this

Here is an example of what Ineed to do

Object RAM
Depth 64 Words
Word Size 49 bits
Word Size 7 bytes
Padding Bits 7

Description of single element
Bits 0:11 H Size
Bits 12:21 V Size
Bits 22:26 Priority
Bits 27:38 H Pos
Bits 38:48 V Pos

As you can see the parameters i need to deal with have no respect for byte or word boundaries lol

What I need is to create function that will fill in a structure that I then send on SPI as 7 bytes

I do also have some example code like this

#define WORD_SIZE 7 // word size expressed in bytes

typedef struct {
    union
    {
//walc327        __packed
        struct {
            unsigned int pad1:7;
            unsigned int ypos:10;                   // vertical position
            unsigned int xpos:12;                   // horizontal position
            unsigned int priority:5;                // priority (0=lowest, 31=highest)
            unsigned int height:10;                 // vertical size
            unsigned int width:12;                  // horizontal size
        } __attribute__((packed));

UINT8 raw[WORD_SIZE];
    };
//walc404 } Fillbox_s;
} __attribute__((packed)) Fillbox_s;

That is fairly obviously the same structure in a way (though it seems to declare everyting as unsigned int (16 bits?) I guess this attribute packed is doing something.?

I can't compile that unless i change UINT8 to unsigned char then it will compile but is that the same thing?