Help needed : PWM control using serial port

I am trying to control 2 LEDs through a serial port. Can someone suggest a code i can use to control each LED individually?
This is what the code should do :
let the user control the intensity of LED1 from 0 to 255 independent of LED2 and vice versa.

Thanks

What have you tried?

Have a look at the examples in Serial Input Basics - especially the 3rd example.

…R

Hello Septillion,

Thanks for replying. I have used the standard code with for loop to increment the led brightness from 0 to 255 and decrement it. I am new to coding. Therefore, all i have been able to accomplish is this:

case 1 : LED 1 and LED 2 increase and decrease in brightness together.

case 2 : LED 1 goes to 255 while LED 2 goes to 0.

case 3 : the for loop seems to predetermine the time for which the LEDs undergo pwm.

I would like to write a code where the user will have two sliders to work with, one for LED 1 and another for LED2. when he/she manipulates the slider for LED1, LED 2 remains untouched by the code. and when the slider for LED 2 is manipulated, LED 1 remains untouched.

I hope this helps. I have been trying to come up with something for a month now. Thanks again for helping!

I have been trying to come up with something for a month now

So, post what you've got, and we can work on it with you.

I am trying to control 2 LEDs through a serial port.

I would like to write a code where the user will have two sliders to work with, one for LED 1 and another for LED2.

These are two very different approaches. Sending serial data from the serial monitor like "LED1 175" is very different from using analog slide potentiometers to control the levels of the two leds.

You may even be talking about devising a PC program with two sliders on a touch screen and sending the values to the Arduino.

The first thing to do on any project is to accurately specify what you are trying to do.