Help Needed - remote control scoreboard and motion sensor activated with sound

Hello,

I play a washer toss game which is very similar to corn hole. I have always thought it would be cool to make a board that has a remote controlled scoreboard and a motion sensor in the hole which will activate lights and sound. I ran across arduino projectts that were similar and I decided to purchase a 2560 mega starter kit. I am brand new to arduino and this would be my first project. My kit seems to include both a LCD display and a 4-digit eight segment display, as well as a IR remote, a HC-SR501 PIR motion sensor, and numerous LED's plus many other additional items.

As for the scoring it would just be need to increase by single digits and it need a reset. The motion sensor located in the hole would activate LED's and ideally some pre-programmed sound clips. It appears that I don't have the sound module included in my kit and I will possibly need to purchase a recommended unit to get the sound portion to work.

I am completely new to arduino and would appreciate any assistance.

Thanks for your time and I look forward to hearing from you all.

This is a fairly easy project to do, but given you are new I recommend breaking this down in learning chunks.

1. program an arduino to increment numbers to the serial display when ever say D5 or D6 goes high–now you have a basic counter, Need basic push buttons to act as your triggers. This is rather straightforward

next…

1. get and LCD working so the “score” is displayed on the LCD. Now you can push button1 or button2 to increment the score and see it. A 20x4 display will run around $13. This is a bit harder but tons of youtube videos–i’ve posted a few.

next…