Help Needed.  Serial data manipulation.

Hi All,

Please do not beat me up to much if I posted in the wrong area. I am just getting started and a newbie to the Arduino and the group.

I am wondering if someone can help with some code. What I am trying to do is take rs232 data in on pin0 and output it in a different format on pin1.

Data coming in looks like this. The data is always starts with 3 digits then ends with 1 digit.

005 5 120 8 160 9

I would like to have that data output like this

%005/5 %120/8 %160/9

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks Everyone, Mike G

This is the correct place for software issues, so nothing to worry about there.

If you know the data comes in like you've shown, you must have some code that reads the data, and prints it out.

Show us that code, and we'll show you how to change it.

Basically, though, you don't need to print everything with Serial.println. The Serial.print command does the same thing that Serial.println does, except print the carriage return.

You can also print constant strings, like this:

Serial.print("%");
Serial.print("/");

Hi Paul,

I do not have any code for the devices. What I have is a direction finder kinda like a LoJack tracking unit. http://www.dopsys.com/ser5900.htm The box outputs 4800 baud plain text serial data. The 3 digits is a heading of the signal based on 360 degrees. The next line of outputs is how strong the signal is from 1 to 9.

The software you run on a laptop wants to see it in a different way. The message format is %XXX/Y(cr), where XXX = relative bearing to signal, Y = bearing quality. http://www.silcom.com/~pelican2/PicoDopp/WINDOPP_MORE.html

Thanks, Mike

Data coming in looks like this. The data is always starts with 3 digits then ends with 1 digit.

005 5 120 8 160 9

Are you reading this from pin 0? Or are you hoping this is true?