Help needed to code an Arduino for a project.

Hi,

I have never coded before and I am a starter. This is a group project we had to do, my partner was supposed to code the Arduino as had programming experience before, but he bluffed and bailed out on the project, so it is up to me now to figure out the code for this project.

I dont know where to start. I will need a lot of help.

The mechanism for the project is (My partner sent it to me) :

Using a mechanism similar to one used to fire a pinball, the handle pulls back to compress a string between the plate at the end of the barrel and the plate at the other end of the handle piece (google pinball launcher mechanism or somesuch to get a better idea). The pulley is for the motor to use wire to pull back that mechanism (much like a winch) in order to compress the spring. The wire and mechanism are connected via bungie-hook. The motor should spin, winding up the string until it pulls the spring back enough to get an initial velocity high or low enough in order to hit the target programmed in. The hook is then disconnected and the mechanism fires.

Also we are supposed to have an LED that will turn green when the launcher is ready to launch the ball. (Optional)

Any help in regard to this will be appreciated.

Thank you!

You found the forum. This is a good place to ask specific questions.

Look under "Learning" for "getting started" and "examples" Look around the "playground", you might find something similar that you can modify. There are a lot of examples with switches, LEDs and servos.

There are a lot of good YouTube videos on programming in C and programming the Arduino.

Have you designed and/or built the hardware? Your explanation of what the Arduino needs to do is vague - you need a clearer understanding of it before you can implement that part.

PeterH: