Help needed with Input Capture interrupt handling

I am new to the Arduino and am impressed with how easy it is to get up and running productively. But, I am struggling with the Atmel timer documentation and would appreciate some help getting the Input Capture ISR to behave.

The Capture handler functions as expected, except the ICR1 count just overflows ( the ICR1 count is never reset).

Also, if I enable the overflow interrupt handler, program execution gets blocked.

Any help with the correct setup of the timer1 registers ( I assume that is my problem) would be much appreciated.

[font=Courier New]
/******* Sketch to test Input Capture interrupt handling *********************************
   Intended functionality: measure length of pulses on the ICP pin with precision of 0.5 microseconds
 This version correctly mirrors incoming pulses on outPin 2 to verify that the ICP handler is working
 but there are two major problems, probably due to incorrect settings of the control register
 BUG: the ICR value is never reset, it incriments to overflow, not reseting on pulse edges
 BUG: if Timer1 overflow interrupt is enabled, execution is blocked in the interrupt handler!
**************************************************************************************************************/
#include <stdio.h>      // for verbose debugging using sprintf 

#define icpPin 8        // ICP input pin on arduino
#define outPin 2        // output pin that will shadow the input, can be monitored with a scope 

// some variable to help see that something is happening in the interrupt handlers
volatile int Value;     // this stores the current ICR1 value
volatile int MinValue;     
volatile int MaxValue;
volatile int Overflows;
volatile int PulseCount;

/* Overflow interrupt vector */
ISR(TIMER1_OVF_vect){           // here if no input pulse detected 
   Overflows++;                       // incriment overflow count  
}

/* ICR interrupt vector */
ISR(TIMER1_CAPT_vect){