Help needed with Integration of MPU values.

Hi everyone :slight_smile: ,

Before I begin I am very new to Arduino and programming in general. This is for a university project and have never completed anything like this before.

I have managed to connect an MPU 6050, Arduino Nano and Hc-05 together and can see the X,Y,Z acceleration in the serial monitor. Here is my current code to do this:

#include “I2Cdev.h” // include the I2Cdev library
#include “MPU6050.h” // include the accelerometer library
MPU6050 accelgyro; // set device to MPU6050
int16_t ax, ay, az, gx, gy, gz; // define accel as ax,ay,az
int baselineX = 0;
int baselineY = 0;
int baselineZ = 0;

void setup() {

// initialize serial communication at 9600 bits per second:
Serial.begin(9600);

Wire.begin(); // join I2C bus
Serial.begin(9600); // initialize serial communication
accelgyro.initialize(); // initialize the accelerometer
accelgyro.getMotion6(&ax, &ay, &az, &gx, &gy, &gz);
baselineX = ax;
baselineY = ay;
baselineZ = az;
}

void loop() {
accelgyro.getMotion6(&ax, &ay, &az, &gx, &gy, &gz); // read measurements from device
Serial.print((gx-baselineX));
//Serial.println((ax-baselineX)*0.05);
Serial.print("\t");
Serial.print(gx);
Serial.print("\t");
Serial.print(gy);
Serial.print("\t");
Serial.print(gz);

Serial.print("\t");
Serial.print("\t");
Serial.print((gy-baselineY));

Serial.print("\t");
Serial.print("\t");
Serial.println((gz-baselineZ));
delay(200);
}

I now want to integrate these values twice to determine velocity and displacement of the values ( I understand the issues of the Errors increasing by doing this but that doesn’t matter for this project). I was wondering if anyone knew of any code or could help explain some code that would let me do this?

I appreciate that there are lots of threads on this topic already however with my lack of knowledge I cannot figure out how to apply them to my code :confused:. Im sorry if i have made any mistakes already. Thank you for any help you can give.