Help on building simple battery monitor and charger with Arduino

Dear friends,

I'm a teacher with basic knowledge in electronics. My experience is really on programming. However, I'm supporting a group of students in a project to build a simple battery charger using a solar panel. One of the students is familiar with Arduino. He decided to use the board to monitor the battery charge and automatically "activate" the solar panel.

He is using a clever association of resistors to create a voltage divider and monitor the charge in the battery. Their design includes a relay to activate the connection between the battery and the solar panel. Here is a diagram of the design we are planing to build.

We were able to test the battery monitor and it works perfectly. However, now we are going to connect the solar panel and I'm afraid to burn the whole circuit, including our board. We would appreciate any advice on the design. We are using a 6v 2A battery and a 6V 1800mA solar panel.

As a note, this is a students project. The main idea here is to get them excited about electronics and in solving problems. The circuit isn't intended to work for long periods or to be efficient. It just need to work without smoking.

Thanks,

Juliano

Welcome to the forums.
The following link on a basic PV solar charger using Arduino may provide you with some ideas.

For a more effective and updated circuit.

Paul

driver.jpg

Ardunio do not have sufficient current to drive most of the relay, you need a transistor.

Thanks Paul and Bill for the quick answers. I forgot to mention that I'm using a 2 relays shield. So I suppose the shield uses adequate relays to work with the arduino current. But I really didn't know of the need of a transistor to use a discrete relay. So it was an important lesson.

I updated my project using the diagrams you shared.

Thanks for the support.

Juliano

I assume the battery is rechargeable.

The diode in your circuit will prevent any recharging of the battery.