Help on code to activate a motor by a ping sensor

I am a novice to working with arduino, but I would like to know if there are any code ideas to figure out when a ping sensor detects something, that if would activate a motor. I just need the motor to move in one direction and at a certain speed. Can anyone please help? Thank you! At least someone help direct me to sources on how to code this so that I can learn also. I also have another problem, when I try to upload my program to my arduino, it is very slow and then it wouldn't upload, so what should I do with that?

would like to know if there are any code ideas to figure out when a ping sensor detects something, that if would activate a motor.

Yes. The usual way to approach this is to write a sketch that gets data from a ping sensor, and prints the distance to the serial port (that the Serial Monitor is connected to).

When that reports reasonable data (i.e. you know that the hardware works and that the calculations are correct), you write another sketch that simply moves the motor the way you want.

When that works, it's pretty simple to combine the two, so that the motor turns on and does it's thing, whenever the ping sensor returns a value in the desired range.

So how should i code it? I am new at coding. So can you help me?

I am new at coding

You’ll never get better at it unless you try. If you want someone to write the code for you, go to Gigs and Collaboration, and get your wallet out.

Do you know any sources of where I can learn to code this?

Do you know any sources of where I can learn to code this?

Of course. There are examples galore on the playground. I know for a fact that there is one to read from an ultrasonic sensor. It isn't the best example, because all the code is in loop(), rather than a function, but it works.

It's relatively short, only a dozen lines or so. What each one does should be easy to understand, since it uses nothing but functions documented on the reference page.