Help on my research idea: storm surge detecting and warning lighthouse

I can say that I am a beginner. Pardon me

My idea is to make a storm surge detecting and warning lighthouse that changes the color of the revolving beam to red (or maybe from the default-white- then to orange and then red) and also triggers an alarm when there is an incoming storm surge.

The factors to be used in detecting will be rise of water level and wind speed (and wind direction? I'm not sure.) I've been watching multiple Arduino tutorials videos on youtube on water level sensoring and wind speed and direction. But I have not really tried to do it myself.

Is my idea possible? Can I combine water level and wind speed alarm? Does the lighthouse warning system make sense to you guys? Any tips?

Sorry for the bad english.

Can I combine water level and wind speed alarm?

Yes. The first step is to get an Arduino and learn how they work by following the introductory tutorials.

Then learn to read water level and wind speed sensors, and see how well you can do at predicting storms.

Just been to a Geek fest in Hebden Bridge, Wuthering Bytes.

They were badly flooded a few years back, see here and what they did about monitoring;

https://www.rs-online.com/designspark/a-flood-sensor-network-for-calderdale

I was in that Co-Operative food store on Thursday buying cakes.

andreaterbio:
But I have not really tried to do it myself.

Then you should start, make the sensors work first.

andreaterbio:
My idea is to make a storm surge detecting and warning lighthouse

If you mean a surge in sea levels I reckon it would be next to impossible to detect it until it was too late to be useful.

There is also the serious risk that rough seas would destroy your water level sensor even at a storm level far below the strength that would cause problems.

For rivers (such as the problem at Hebden bridge) the rate of rainfall would be a useful predictor - rain falling faster than the drains and rivers can handle.