Help on the Concepts

I am building an automatic dog-feeder using a cereal dispenser. My plan is to use a motor to turn the knob on the dispenser for a set number of seconds. I've done some preliminary research (I'm very new to this) and this is my main question right now:

I know that I will need some sort of external power supply to power the motor. In order to keep the project looking clean, I would like to use a single DC supply from an ordinary wall-jack to the Arduino and motor. Is this possible? If so, do you have any links to a good how-to or resource guide?

I would imagine it should be something like this Arduino DC Motor Control Tutorial - YouTube but I will not have a USB connection and the 9v battery would be a DC supply instead. How would I connect the DC to the Arduino simultaneously?

Hopefully I've worded this in a way that makes sense. Thanks for any help.

Depends on what motor you plan to use ? (voltage, current?)

The Arduino needs 7-12V on its plug to get a decent 5V on board

So if your servo's are in that range one wall plug would work ...

I plan on using a motor with these specs:

Voltage: 3 - 12 Volts
Gear Ratio: 150:1
Stall Torque: 185 oz-in. (@ 12V)
Speed: 20 RPM (@ 12V)
No Load Current: 95 mA (@ 12V)
Stall Current: 0.5A (@ 12V)
Insulation Resistance: 10 MOhm
Dielectric Strength: 300VDC
DC Reversible

As the Arduino might need up to 0.5A too you should start with a 12V 1 Amp wall wart

(disclaimer no EE :slight_smile:

Awesome. Good info, thanks. Now... I still do not need to use a relay, correct?

Fredthedog:
Awesome. Good info, thanks. Now... I still do not need to use a relay, correct?