Help - Phototransistor

I'm a complete newbie to Arduino.

I have a couple of phototransitors (sku: SEN-00246 from SparkFun) and I would like to an LED's blink rate to vary according to the sensor's readings.

I do not know how to connect the phototransitor to the board. Can someone explain how to read the datasheet?

By the way, here's the datasheet: http://www.sparkfun.com/datasheets/BOT/QRD1114.pdf

This a crude diagram I knocked together for another thread. What you have is 2 devices in one package, an Infra red LED and a photo transistor. The diagram above should suffice, The LED half is pins 3&4 which is the left hand side of my diagram. The photo transistor is Pins 1&2 and is the Right side of my diagram. The resistor values are ball park. The three connections to the arduino are Gnd, 5V and either an analogue input or a digital input to the 'test point' on the diagram. Leave the switch out. If you connect it up to an analogue pin for starters and experiment a little with the 2 resistor values to get voltages you can work with. Kind of depends on the reflective object you're trying to sense.........

Hi pluggy,

Thanks for the diagram. I'm not sure what you mean when you reference pins 3 & 4 (for LED) and 1 & 2 (for photo transistor). Are those pins on the Arduino?

Based on the rest of your post, it seems like I only need to connect to 3 points on the Arduino: Gnd, 5V, and an analogue or digital input. So, I am a bit lost.

Also, I know you said the resistor values are ball park. How did you compute ball park values?

Thanks.