Help programming LED strip custom functions

Hi everyone,

I’ve tried to make the title as clear as possible for this.

I’m new to C++ (your worst nightmare). I’m eager to learn and I’ve been using FastLED and Neopixel examples to break down my learning for led strip specific functions.

I’m also in no hurry whatsoever and I’m more than happy to learn this as thoroughly as possible rather than trying to get instant results but that means asking you guys a lot of questions!

Thanks for everyones help so far and I’ve got as far as connecting an led strip to my Arduino and setting up a simple cyclone code using an example from FastLED:

I’ve also spotted an easily adjustable, trailing version of this from FastLED which I’m happy to take forward. I’ve attempted to strip it out as much as possible so I can understand the function:

#include “FastLED.h”

FASTLED_USING_NAMESPACE

#if FASTLED_VERSION < 3001000
#error “Requires FastLED 3.1 or later; check github for latest code.”
#endif

#define DATA_PIN 6
//#define CLK_PIN 4
#define LED_TYPE WS2812B
#define COLOR_ORDER GRB
#define NUM_LEDS 15
CRGB leds[NUM_LEDS];

#define BRIGHTNESS 1000
#define FRAMES_PER_SECOND 300

void setup() {
delay(3000); // 3 second delay for recovery

// tell FastLED about the LED strip configuration
FastLED.addLeds<LED_TYPE,DATA_PIN,COLOR_ORDER>(leds, NUM_LEDS).setCorrection(TypicalLEDStrip);
//FastLED.addLeds<LED_TYPE,DATA_PIN,CLK_PIN,COLOR_ORDER>(leds, NUM_LEDS).setCorrection(TypicalLEDStrip);

// set master brightness control
FastLED.setBrightness(BRIGHTNESS);
}

// List of patterns to cycle through. Each is defined as a separate function below.
typedef void (*SimplePatternList)();
SimplePatternList gPatterns = { sinelon, };

uint8_t gCurrentPatternNumber = 0; // Index number of which pattern is current
uint8_t gHue = 0; // rotating “base color” used by many of the patterns

void loop()
{
// Call the current pattern function once, updating the ‘leds’ array
gPatternsgCurrentPatternNumber;