HELP project with 300+ photoresistors!

hey guys,

i've just been getting into the arduino and there are numerous questions i'd like to ask. hopefully someone can give me suggestions on how to work this project.

i'm building a small labyrinth for a hamster or mice to run in. the flooring of the labyrinth would be tiled with photoresistors. each one would trigger a 1 sec soundclip when the hamster is on top of the photocell. i know i'd be needing the wave shield, and i've found a analog shield from applied plantonics.

presently i'm not very sure about this analog shield. correct me if i'm wrong, i have no experience with this multiplexer. 48 pins can let me use 12 multiplexers = 192 inputs??

is there another the way to do it? pleases give me suggestions! i'm not very well experienced with the arduino. feel free to comment :)

this post confused me a lot i'm not clear so as what you want to do so far what i have underood is that you want to play a sound clip whe n a photosell is blocked but i cant associate it to a rat running :( well if you just want to sense if the rat is running ot know it would be a lot easier ;)

thanx for your reply!

sorry for the confusion, but yes, the soundclip is to be played when the photocell is blocked from light. the project is for the hamster to generate a piece of music trying to come out from the maze. so just sensing the rat’s movement is not enough :wink:

hmm you could try out building a HUGE matrix keypad 8-) on that case it will be more easy aswell you can play different music for diffenet key's

Some multiplex chips like below controlled via parallel or serial serial chips could be used to sample the photo cell outputs.

http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Texas-Instruments/CD74HC4067E/?qs=sGAEpiMZZMutXGli8Ay4kIw6S1qvfJXbnY%252bcJhbp9Pk%3d

For the amount you want to read from, I think a setup up like this is what you need. A 1 of 16 data selector is used to select which of 16 data selectors to read from.