Help: Pulling integers out of a string, then making a comparison

Hello,

Newish to arduino here, but familiar with electricity (electrician by trade), so still figuring some of this stuff out.

Anyhow.

Building an alarm clock, and the library I am using (from rinky dink electronics) spits out the time in a string. I can set the time using variables. But cannot use IF statements to compare a setup alarm time variables (one variable for hours, one for the minutes) to the string to set the alarm off.

I think my real question is, is there a way to convert 2 integers into a string within the loop? What I basically want to do is (and I know this wouldnt compile it is just the easiest way to explain it):

if (rtc.getTimeStr == alarmstring)
{
this would be the alarm
}

my integers are: "alarmhour", and "alarmmin"

EDIT:

I think I can explain more about what I am talking about:

My time string displays as HOURS:MINUTES:SECONDS. Example: 22:04:41

My alarmhour and alarmminute are 2 integers set by the user using potentiometers and stored as a variable. For example.

alarmhour = 5;
alarminute = 30;

My question lies, how can I convert my alarm time to a string, appending a zero of course to the end for seconds. that way I can use an IF statement to see if my alarm string matches my time string.

This is an excellent example of an XY problem.

What is an XY problem? http://xyproblem.info/

Please give a link to the library you are using, or to the page on which it can be found. (Please do not tell us to “just google it”. There might be more than one library, or more than one version of the library.)

If your library genuinely provides no way to get the time except as a string, then I would say it is time to look for another library.

Here is the library I am using:

http://www.rinkydinkelectronics.com/library.php?id=73

The Manual is on that page as well, as a PDF.

Don’t send us hunting the internet for code and/or schematics.