[Help]Question LED Matrix

Hi,
I'm new to Arduino things. And maybe my english is not really good
Sorry in advance.

I want to ask some questions for you guys.

I plan to make a cosplay of koro sensei. A guys with a big yellow head. His color change according to his emotions. Like the picture here :

I plan to make this of a sphere with strip led.
I will make a big matrix, that I'm going to put in the sphere.
So I can make the colors with a arduino

My questions are :

1. Is it possible to feed a matrix of more than 500 leds + a arduino with one battery??
    Or should I try one battery for the arduino and another one for the strip ?

2. I read on internet, the ws2812b use 50-60 mA when they are at maximum. I use that to calculate the battery I need. And I found 18 A
    I think I made a mistake somewhere.

What battery I can use for this project?

Thank you

Why a battery?

I have my 5m strip running from 5V/10A AC adapter.

maximum is every LED on.

I read on internet, the ws2812b use 50-60 mA when they are at maximum. I use that to calculate the battery I need. And I found 18 A
I think I made a mistake somewhere.

Yes you made a mistake
500 * 0.06 = 30 Amps.

Using 500 LEDs inside something some one is going to put their head into is way too much.

Using those strips is the right thing to do but you have way too many.

Hi,
How big is the sphere?
Have you really worked out how many LEDs will provide enough illumination.

Have you thought of using a semi transparent sphere and putting fewer LEDs inside to make the sphere glow?

Tom... :slight_smile:

Hi,

Thank for the answers.

ieee488:
Why a battery?

I have my 5m strip running from 5V/10A AC adapter.

maximum is every LED on.

It's for a costume so I must be able to move.

Grumpy_Mike:
Yes you made a mistake
500 * 0.06 = 30 Amps.

Using 500 LEDs inside something some one is going to put their head into is way too much.

Using those strips is the right thing to do but you have way too many.