Help Reading Serial Data and writing to substrings

I have a data string of approx 150 characters that is received using NSS.
What I need to accomplish is:
Check to see if the Header (the first 4 Characters) == MyHeader (“1068”)
If True then I must read the next 110 bytes of data into an Array “SerReceive”.
I must then create 3 SubStrings from “SerReceive”:
"SubString1=“SerReceive characters 5 through14” and convert these 10 chracters to ASCII Text.
"SubString2=“SerReceive characters 52 through 62” and convert these 11 chracters to ASCII Text.
"SubString3=“SerReceive characters 105 through 110”.

Once I have the 3 SubStrings, I must create “StringTx”:
“StringTx”=“SubString1” & “SubString2” & “SubString3”.

I then Transmit “StringTx” via an XBee modem.

I am a newbie to Arduino and C, having only done limited programming in VB6 and VB.Net

Any assistance would be GREATLY Appreciated.

This is the Sketch I am using, but I get an error:
error: request for member ‘substring’ in ‘outbound’, which is of non-class type ‘char [111]’

#include <NewSoftSerial.h>

NewSoftSerial MyPort(4,3, true);

char incoming; // incoming serial data
char outbound[111];
int i=0;
String Model;

void setup() {
Serial.begin(9600);
MyPort.begin(2400);
Serial.println(“Starting:”);
}

void loop() {

i=0; // reset the array index

while (MyPort.available()) {
incoming = MyPort.read();
//if (incoming == ‘@’) break; // escape character is @
// if ((incoming < ‘0’) or (incoming > ‘9’)) break; // discard non-numerics
outbound*=incoming; //copy the serial byte to the array*

• i++; // increase the array index*
    // Serial.print(i);
    // Serial.println(incoming);
  • }*
    _ outbound = 0; // terminating character ← add this line_
    * if (i !=0)*
    * Model = outbound.substring(0,4);*
    * Serial.print(Model); //if the array is not zero, there is data*

*} *

You also need to handle (or ignore) errors anywhere they can possibly occur, like during serial transmission.
Just keep that in mind.