Help reading string data from array

Hey guys, i’m doing a project right now with a Fona shield where i’m querying gps data and sending it over sms. I’m also trying to read sms buffers into a char array, and pull pieces of string data out of the sms array.

Two things

1. I’m a pretty novice programmer

2. I’m looking for a function that could pull string data from the buffer, much like the way scanf works in C, but I want to use a specific character for the pulling instead of whitespaces. I realize this is probably a basic function a lot of people know. I’m just new and have no idea how to process the stream without a function like this. Not sure i’d be skilled enough to create a function to do it either, but if that’s what i need, maybe someone could guide me and ill give it my best shot.

there is a topic by Robin2 Serial Input Basicswhich is very helpful.

1. I'm looking for a function that could pull string data from the buffer, much like the way scanf works in C, but I want to use a specific character for the pulling instead of whitespaces.

Any C function, such as scanf(), can be called from an Arduino program.

scanf() is NOT limited to white spaces as delimiters.

Before we can help you choose/write this mysterious function, seeing an example of the input, and the desired output, would be essential.

PaulS:
Any C function, such as scanf(), can be called from an Arduino program.

scanf() is NOT limited to white spaces as delimiters.

Before we can help you choose/write this mysterious function, seeing an example of the input, and the desired output, would be essential.