Help Reading Variable Voltage for Arduino Tachometer

Hello! This is my first project and first post with Arduino, so I'm a bit of a newbie and don't know too much. My project is making my Arduino into a tachometer for my car. Seemed easy at first - grab the tach signal, process it in the Arduino and output it onto an LCD screen. However it's becoming more difficult than I imagined lol.

I'm using an MSD GMR tach pickup, which is an inductive pickup connected to the ignition coil ground wire to detect the pulses for the sparks. It has a positive, negative, and data wire. When connected to the car's 12v battery and hooked up to an analog tach gauge, it works just fine. Measuring that data wire with a multimeter, I found that as the RPM increases, the voltage on that data wire also increases. The voltage sits around 12-13v at idle, so I'm trying to use a voltage divider to bring it down.

I'm using the code on the Read Analog Voltage reference page (https://www.arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/ReadAnalogVoltage). I tested it on a battery by connecting the A0 pin to the positive battery terminal and the Arduino ground to the negative terminal. I get the same value that I get on the multimeter.

However, when I connect the data wire to the A3 pin, I get false readings. I'm not sure what the equivalent would be to connecting the negative terminal of the battery to the Arduino ground - or if that's even necessary - when there's only a data wire.

Any help would be great, thanks!

If found that you are not correct about how your device works: "Tach Signal GMR Pickup; Converts Low-Voltage/High-Current Pulse To A Clean 12-Volt Square Wave; ".

Your multimeter is integrating the 12 volt pulses to appear as a voltage that varies with the actual pulse rate of the signal.