Help required for choosing a transistor:

Hi guys, I need some advice on how to choose a transistor for a project. The transistor will act as a switch to control a current of about 6A for a very short duration (on the order of a few millisenconds). (as some of you might know, I'm trying to build a coilgun). What kind of transistor should I use? BJT, FET, MOSFET ? (please reasons for selecting a particular type as well). I'd appreciate a specific part number very much indeed...

Thanks

go to digikey.com
search for “logic level n-channel mosfet”
select “single FET transistor”
filter down to find what you need.

Suggest N-channel to sink current to ground. They seem to be more efficien than trying to source that same current from a high voltage source.
Want Low Rds, low input capacitance for low power loss in the device, and fast switching times.
Also search for MOSFET driver to turn that input capacitance on/off fast.

um.. sorry, I'm new to FET terminology. I read up about them in an allaboutcircuits.com text book. Could you explain the last paragraph again?

Suggest N-channel to sink current to ground. They seem to be more efficien than trying to source that same current from a high voltage source.

An N-channel MOSFET will go between your load and ground -- on the "low-side". The gate voltage required to control it is a relatively small voltage near ground (eg: 5V) even if the voltage across your load is 30V or 60V or something. "Logic level" means that it is feasible to use 5V to control the gate.

Want Low Rds,

RdsON is the resistance from drain to source (across the current carrying junction) when the MOSFET is fully "on". This is typically in the few dozen to few hundred milliohm range -- ie: way under one ohm.

low input capacitance for low power loss in the device, and fast switching times.