Help Required - Frequency Calculation

I am new to the Arduino Programming Enviroment and I am trying to impliment a gear shift indicator for a Formula Student Race Car.

My idea is to measure the frequency of the wheel rotating and the frequency of the engine rotating and then using the pre known gear ratios have the arduino calculate which gear the car is in and display it on the dash as a series of LED lights (one for each gear).

I thought of using the internal timer to time a pre defined period and to count how many revolutions of both engine and wheel occour within that alloted time, thus giving the RPM’s of both and then impliment a look up table which will compare the ratio calulated to the pre defined ratios given for each gear.

The problem I have is that I dont know how to program this.

Any assistance would be great.

Thanks

Mark

There are both hardware and software issues here. Do you have the hardware? Is it installed? Does it work? How do you know it works?

With two devices sending signals, and two external interrupts available, you could, in each interrupt, increment a counter. The interrupt would be generated by the wheel and engine sensors detecting rotation.

The Arduino would simply check the values of this variables on a regular basis, using millis() to determine how much time has elapsed. Each time millis() determines that enough time (you define what that means) has elapsed, it would reset the counters, compute the RPM of each (which is just a matter of scaling based on the ratio of "enough time" and one minute), and comparing some ranges of values.

You haven't defined what the Arduino should then do with that information. Kill the engine if the ratio is out-of-whack? Shock the driver? Blare an alarm? Light an LED?

"The rest of you get busy coding while I figure out what the requirements are."