Help, strange problem with i2c

I have one Uno and one Nano communicating over i2c. The strange thing is the master will read the correct data and display it if I assign a value to cellOne in my slave code ( see commented out line 28 in slave code). If I use the Value read on (A1 line 27) (prints correct value from slave on monitor). Then the reading output from the print on the master monitor is not correct.

example 1:
CellOne assigned to 500 on line 28.
Slave and master will both print 500.

example 2:
line 28 commented out on slave and uses value read by A1line 27.(set voltage to read 725)

Slave prints 725.
Master prints 855.

The difference between the two numbers increases as the voltage input increases.

I am fairly new to this and has spent hours trying to figure this out.

Thank you

slave code

//slave code on Nano

#include <Wire.h>
int cellOne;
void setup()
{
Wire.begin(54);
Serial.begin(9600);
pinMode (6, OUTPUT);//for relay
pinMode (A1, INPUT);
digitalWrite(6, HIGH);//for relay
//delay(200);
}

void loop()
{
delay(400);

Serial.println(cellOne);

Wire.onRequest(requestEvent);
}

void requestEvent()
{
cellOne= analogRead(A1);//this is line 27
//int cellOne = 500;//this is line 28
byte myArray[2];

myArray[0] = (cellOne >> 8) & 0xFF;
myArray[1] = cellOne & 0xFF;

Wire.write(myArray,2);

}

Master code

//master code on UNO

#include <Wire.h>

int cel1;
byte a1,b1;
void setup()
{
Wire.begin();
Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop()
{
delay(1000);

Wire.requestFrom(54,2);

a1 = Wire.read();
b1 = Wire.read();

cel1 = a1;
cel1= cel1 << 8 | b1;
Serial.println (cel1);

}

@OP

During I2C Bus programming, we usually take care of the following directives which are not seen effective in your Slave Codes: