Help. Stuck with Arduino based telescope focuser.

Hi. I am trying to build a DIY telescope focuser. This is just a stepper motor, an Arduino Uno and a motor shield. This is my first experience with an Arduino project. I have lots of experience with computers, some electronics, and no coding. A contributor on astronomyforums.net was helping me through this but that forum has died and I am stuck on editing the Arduino sketch for this focuser.

I have the Arduino IDE and the sketch downloaded from SourceForge. There is also an eepromanything.h file that is supposed to be included with the sketch. I don't know how to do that. The eepromanything.h file does not download, it just displays a small batch of text when I click on it in SourceForge. Do I copy this into the main sketch in the Arduino IDE, or does it have to be a separate file that is downloaded to the Arduino with the main sketch?

Lots of simple details but to a beginner even a tiny missing step is huge.

Appreciate any help with this. Thanks a bunch.

DonM

Lots of simple details

. . . are missing from your post.

You need to provide a lot more information if we are to be able to help you.

First, perhaps explain what is meant to happen - ie what does the motor do and how does it know what to do? How does it know when it is focused?

Post a link to the datasheet for the stepper motor you are using.

Post the program you are trying to use.
Post a link to the web page where you got the program.

...R

You have to download the entire project from SourceForge. See the .zip download button there, download and unpack the archive into your sketch folder.

You forgot to say WHICH of the thousands of projects on SourceForge you are trying to use.

I think people get the wrong idea for how electronic projects work. They are not like kits: buy the parts, and follow the instructions - then voila! you have the thing!