Help troubleshooting motor shield

Hello all,

A complete noob here, I've set up a wind simulator using monster Moto shield connected to nano, and two 2.7A fans

I acknowledge that I've done a poor soldering job, but it did work for a few days (fans worked fine spun up/down with signal from nano)
But all of a sudden it stopped working (fans no longer spins), and I'm having a hard time troubleshooting.

The shield itself seems to be receiving power, the power led is on, and I can see that it's getting 12v using multimeter
However both motor leds no longer lights up (as they previously were)

Looking at the motor output while idle it seems motor 1 is receiving 0.8v (800 Milliampere) while motor 2 is getting 50 Milliampere, not sure if this normal or indicative of a problem

Any advice on how to check/troubleshoot would be appreciated

Thanks

Product page at Sparkfun: https://www.sparkfun.com/products/retired/10182.

Can you show us a photo of the soldering ?
How strong is your 12V, how many amps can it supply ?
Which fans do you use ? Do they have a brand and a type ? Not every fan can deal with a PWM signal and some fans have a large startup current.

It is very hard to damage those driver chips. However, they can not deal with a reverse voltage. Perhaps something is not properly soldered and does no longer make contact.

Troubleshooting is done by cycling through all the options for each pin. Make it low and test it, make it high and test it, make it high impedance and test it, try the PWM.

Can you also tell what kind of soldering iron you use ?

Thanks for your reply, I really appreciate it
The PS is https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07K19MTKM?psc=1&ref=ppx_yo2_dt_b_product_details
it can handle 10A

The Fans are Amazon.com

The images are after I've already start to remove the soldering and disconnected one of the fans during my troubleshooting attempt