Help understanding a circuit driving a high power solinoid.

Hello,

I need help understanding the attached schematic. I am a noob and while I do understand the basics, I can’t figure out how this works. Hoping to get some help, more detailed the better.

What I do know:

I numbered the components because they are hard to read in the picture. Here they are

1. 1K resistor
  2. 470 resistor
  3. 2N4403 transistor
  4. 1N4004 diode
  5. 56 resistor
  6. 2.7k resistor
  7. tip102 transistor
  8. 220 resistor
  9. tip36c transistor
  10. 1N4004 diode.

I am pretty certain that the VCC is 5VDC regulated. The line coming in from the far left is the control line that I also believe is high or low 5VDC. I will do some more testing when I get a chance, but lets assume that is the case.

The line coming in from the right is +50VDC.

This circuits sole purpose is to supply a path to ground for a high power coil/solenoid. The coil has a diode on it for protection against spike voltage.

I would like to understand this much better, and maybe it can help some other folks too. Lets just say there is very little here I understand and go for the most complete explanation possible. My ultimate goal, aside from learning and understanding this, is to mimic the functionality with the Arduino as the control. I may mimic it exactly to see it all work, but if there is a better way please share.

Thank you very much for any help you can provide.

Rather complicated. Where does this circuit come from? Simpler designs are usually adequate.

I figured most of it out, I just wished I knew more about the resistor values and there placement.

The output for the control is closed in its normal state and there is no positive voltage, so the vcc going through the 1k resistor makes the base of the pnp 2N4403 HIGH, and in turn closes off the vcc to the base of the tip102. The tip36c is also a pnp and the 50VDC passing through the 220 resistor keeps the path to ground closed.